Our range

Lussac Saint-Émilion

Château La Claymore

2018

Tasting

Beautiful, dense garnet red colour. Powerful nose of dark fruits, blackberry, blueberry and blackcurrant with notes of toffee and a hint of vanilla. Round on the palate with smooth tannins. The finish lingers on with well-ripened cherry and liquorice tastes, with slightly toasty notes.

Awards and press

  • Gold Concours Général Agricole de Paris 2020
  • Silver Decanter World Wine Awards 2020
  • 1* Guide Hachette des Vins 2022
  • 90-92 Yohan Castaing
  • 88-89 Yves Beck
  • 86-88 Robert Parker, Wine Advocate

2019

Tasting

A beautiful garnet colour with carmine glimmers. There is a very nice mix of delicate aromas: wild strawberries, sour cherries, and eucalyptus. The wine is lively and tight on the palate. Some dark tobacco notes on the finish.

Awards

  • 89-90 pts James Suckling
  • 89-91 pts Yves Beck
  • 89-91 pts Jeb Dunnuck
  • 90 pts Antonio Galloni (Vinous)
  • 15.5/20  90-91/100 VertdeVin magazine

2020

Tasting

This wine has a beautiful crimson colour with dark purple tints. The spicy bouquet focuses on lovely notes of black cherries and violets. It is round and smooth on the palate with delicate scents of blackberries and brown tobacco, and well blended tannins. Some delicate notes of Cardamom give freshness and a pleasant feeling of lingering to the wine.

Awards

  • SILVER 90pts Decanter World Wine Awards 2022
  • 90-91 pts James Suckling
  • 90-92 pts Yves Beck
  • 90-92 pts Jeb Dunnuck
  • 90-92 pts Yohan Castaing (Anthocyanes)
  • 90 pts VertdeVin magazine
  • 89-90 pts Terre de Vin

A wine with an excellent gustatory quality, made with the utmost care. The wood is discreet and Merlot gives roundness and tenderness.

The vineyard

All our plots are cultivated with the respect for environment and full expression of the terroir: low level of treatment, frequent tillage, systematic leaf-thinning, green harvesting, sorting table.

CHATEAU LA CLAYMORE is a blended wine made with our best plots located on the sunny slopes of the Estate.  The soil is composed of the famous Fronsac molass with sand facies, and a layer of limestone and clay at the bottom.  A very typical terroir, characteristic of Saint-Emilion fine wines, which imparts strength, finesse to our wines, and a good depth on the palate.

Three grape varieties:  MERLOT mostly, CABERNET FRANC, and MALBEC

The wine

Wine making process is made without the use of SO2, under temperature control during fermentation and maceration. Grapes tasted and selected for CHATEAU LA CLAYMORE, after running off and pressing, age half in wood and half in cement vats. All our barrels are renewed each year.

Bottled after 15 months’ ageing and blending, CHATEAU LA CLAYMORE is available in 37,5cl, 75cl Bordeaux bottles and in 1,5 l Magnum bottles

Next Post
Cadet du
Château La Claymore
Previous Post
Château
La Haute Claymore

Notre Gamme

Lussac Saint-Émilion

Château La Claymore

2018

Dégustation

Belle robe dense, rouge grenat. Nez puissant de fruits noirs, de mûre, de myrtille et de cassis, accompagnés par des notes de caramel légèrement vanillé. En bouche, le vin est rond, avec des tanins suaves. La finale se prolonge sur des saveurs de cerise bien mûre, de réglisse, et des notes légèrement toastées.

Médailles et presses

  • Or Concours Général Agricole de Paris 2020
  • Argent 92pts Decanter World Wine Awards 2020
  • 1* Guide Hachette des Vins 2022
  • 90-92 Yohan Castaing
  • 91 Yves Beck
  • 86-88 Robert Parker, Wine Advocate
  • 86-88 Antonio Galloni, Vinous
  • 90/100 VertdeVin

2019

Dégustation

Jolie robe grenat aux reflets carmin. Le nez présente une belle complexité entre les fins arômes de fraise des bois, de cerise griotte et d’eucalyptus. La bouche est tendue et vive dès l’attaque. La finale laisse percevoir des notes de tabac brun.

Médailles

  • 89-90 pts James Suckling
  • 89-91 pts Jeb Dunnuck
  • 89-91 pts Yves Beck
  • 90 pts Antonio Galloni (Vinous)
  • 15.5/20  90-91/100 VertdeVin magazine

2020

Dégustation

Jolie robe pourpre aux reflets violines. Le bouquet est concentré, épicé, aux belles notes de cerise noire et de violette bien présentes. La bouche est ronde et suave et révèle de délicats arômes de mûre et de tabac brun, avec des tanins bien fondus. Les fines notes de cardamone en finale apportent longueur et fraîcheur.
Un vin élégant, pur et d’une belle profondeur.

Médailles

  • SILVER 90pts Decanter World Wine Awards 2022
  • 90-91 pts James Suckling
  • 90-92 pts Jeb Dunnuck
  • 90-92 pts Yves Beck
  • 90-92 pts Yohan Castaing (Anthocyanes)
  • 90 pts VertdeVin magazine
  • 89-90 pts Terre de Vin

Un vin d’une belle qualité gustative, élevé avec le plus grand soin. Un boisé discret où le merlot joue de rondeur et de tendresse.

Le Vignoble

Nos parcelles sont travaillées dans le respect de l’environnement afin d’exprimer tout la richesse du terroir : traitement limité, labours fréquents, effeuillages systématiques, vendange en vert, tri sélectif sur table.

CHATEAU LA CLAYMORE est un vin d’assemblage issu de nos meilleures parcelles. Situées sur les versants ensoleillés du domaine, les vignes sont plantées sur des sols de type molasse du fronsadais à faciès sableux, dotés d’une couche d’argile et de calcaire en profondeur. Un terroir typique des grands vins de Saint-Emilion qui confère à nos vins puissance, finesse et longueur de bouche.

Trois cépages : MERLOT en majorité, CABERNET FRANC, et MALBEC

Le Vin

La vinification sans SO2 est pratiquée en cuve sous contrôle des températures pendant la phase de fermentation et de macération. Après écoulage et pressurage, les cuvées spécialement dégustées et sélectionnées pour CHATEAU LA CLAYMORE sont élevées pour moitié sous bois, et pour moitié en cuve béton. 100 % du parc des barriques est renouvelé chaque année.

La mise en bouteille a lieu après 15 mois d’élevage et d’assemblage.

CHATEAU LA CLAYMORE est disponible en bouteilles bordelaises de 37,5cl, 75cl et Magnum de 1,5L.

Article suivant
Cadet du
Château La Claymore
Article précédent
Château
La Haute Claymore